District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_dbd22ac439abe797fa2d278660449da481.jpeg

THE FORGOTTEN PIONEER MOVEMENT - GUIDEBOOK

02 Oct 2014 - 31 Dec 2018

The Forgotten Pioneer Movement Guidebook is a companion volume to the interdisciplinary performance and exhibition project of the same name that reconsiders perspectives on the (post-)socialist experience. 25 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, The Forgotten Pioneer Movement engages with the last generation to grow up in the final phase of the cold war, during perestroika and in the ‘pOst-Western’ Europe of the 1990s. As a fictional movement, TFPM probes forms of cultural memory and examines the social perspectives of this generation. The Guidebook to the project explores strategies and discourses from visual as well as performative arts, history and cultural theory in order to approach the “future behind us” described by art historian Edit András as a pan-European experience independent of geopolitical classifications. On 120 pages, theoretical and artistic contributions create new connections between that remote future and the present. 

Following a preface by the initiators of TFPM Ulrike Gerhardt and Susanne Husse, which recognises singular testimonies of the ,pOst-Western‘ contemporaneity in performative reconstellations of past words, images and gestures, a total of nineteen artists and collectives are presented through short texts. The experience of the ‘Post-Soviet Children‘, as art historian Ieva Astahovska terms the members of that generation, so far only entered the post-socialist discourse peripherally. The two essays in theGuidebook, by Ieva Astahovska and Ana Bogdanovic, who is also an art historian, demonstrate that we are still in the midst of producing (post-)socialist history. Astahovska's essay „Socialist past between history, imaginary memories and cabinet of curiosities“ describes the current condition of post-socialist historiography from an art historical perspective. With reference to the philosophy of history, the contemporary history of exhibitions and sociology, Ana Bogdanovic’s essay „Generation as a framework for historicizing the socialist experience in contemporary art“ examines the question of why the generational model appears in the narrative of post-socialist art at the present moment.

The Guidebook in the English language is published to accompany the performance and exhibition project The Forgotten Pioneer Movement at District and various sites in Berlin between October 2nd and November 29th 2014.

Editors: Ulrike Gerhardt, Susanne Husse
Authors: Ieva Astahovska, Ana Bogdanovic, Daniel Falb, Andrea Caroline Keppler, Snejana Krasteva, Natalia Raaben, Anna Sabrina Schmid
Copyeditor: Kate Whitebread
Layout: Pieterjan Gandry

110 x 170 mm, Softcover
120 pages with numerous images 
in English language

Textem Verlag 2014

Price: 8 Euro

Order through: post@district-berlin.com

District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_dbd22ac439abe797fa2d278660449da481.jpeg

THE FORGOTTEN PIONEER MOVEMENT - GUIDEBOOK

02 Okt 2014 - 31 Dez 2018

The Forgotten Pioneer Movement Guidebook ist ein Begleitbuch zum gleichnamigen interdisziplinären Performance- und Ausstellungsprojekt, das Neubetrachtungen der (post-)sozialistischen Erfahrung vornimmt. 25 Jahre nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer beschäftigt sich The Forgotten Pioneer Movement mit der letzten Generation, die in der Auflösungsphase des Kalten Krieges, der Perestroika, und den 1990er Jahren des ,pOst-Westlichen‘ Europas aufgewachsen ist. Als fiktionale Bewegung erprobt TFPM Formen der kulturellen Erinnerung und ermittelt die gesellschaftlichen Perspektiven dieser Generation. Das Guidebook zum Projekt verhandelt Strategien und Diskurse aus visueller wie darstellender Kunst, Geschichtswissenschaft und Kulturtheorie, um sich der von der Kunsthistorikerin Edit András beobachteten „zurückliegenden Zukunft“ als einer paneuropäischen Erfahrung unabhängig von geopolitischen Klassifizierungen zu nähern. Auf 120 Seiten wird anhand von theoretischen und künstlerischen Beiträgen eine Neuverknüpfung jener entfernten Zukunft mit der Gegenwart formuliert.

Neben einem Vorwort der TFPM Initiatorinnen Ulrike Gerhardt und Susanne Husse, das in den performativen Rekonstellationen vergangener Worte, Bilder und Gesten singuläre Zeugnisse ,pOst-Westlicher‘ Zeitgenossenschaft diagnostiziert, werden insgesamt neunzehn Künstlerinnen, Künstler und Kollektive anhand von Kurztexten vorgestellt. Die Erfahrung der ‘Post-Soviet Children‘, wie die Kunsthistorikerin Ieva Astahovska die Mitglieder jener Generation bezeichnet, ging bislang nur partiell in den post-sozialistischen Diskurs ein. Die zwei Essays desGuidebooks von Ieva Astahovska und Ana Bogdanovic, ebenfalls Kunsthistorikerin, führen aus, dass wir uns weiterhin inmitten der Herstellung (post-)sozialistischer Geschichte befinden. Astahovskas Essay „Socialist past between history, imaginary memories and cabinet of curiosities“ beschreibt die gegenwärtige Kondition post-sozialistischer Geschichtsschreibung aus kunsthistorischer Perspektive. Anhand von Bezügen aus Geschichtsphilosophie, zeitgenössischer Ausstellungsgeschichte und Soziologie, geht Ana Bogdanovic in ihrem Essay „Generation as a framework for historicizing the socialist experience in contemporary art“ der Frage nach, warum das Modell der Generation im Narrativ der post-sozialistischen Kunst zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt auftaucht.

Das Guidebook erscheint begleitend zum Performance- und Ausstellungsprojekt The Forgotten Pioneer Movement bei District und an verschiedenen Orten Berlins vom 02.10. bis 29.11.2014 in englischer Sprache.


Herausgeberinnen: Ulrike Gerhardt, Susanne Husse
Autor_innen: Ieva Astahovska, Ana Bogdanovic, Daniel Falb, Andrea Caroline Keppler, Snejana Krasteva, Natalia Raaben, Anna Sabrina Schmid
Lektorat: Kate Whitebread
Layout: Pieterjan Gandry

110 x 170 mm, Softcover
120 Seiten mit zahlreichen s/w-Abbildungen
in englischer Sprache

Textem Verlag 2014

Preis: 8 Euro

Bestellen unter: post@district-berlin.com