District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_dbabed89c8af3f94d1b6895c6b5ab4de2b.jpeg

Transformella ikeae - ReproReality Hack Lab, 2015

Transformellae ikeae – Constructing The Bio-Techno ReproTribe : ReproReality Hack Lab

Workshops and gatherings hosted by Transformella ikeae at the FertilityCave 1.0.6

14 Nov 2015 - 22 Nov 2015

in the frame of 

Johannes Paul Raether
Transformellae ikeae – Constructing The Bio-Techno ReproTribe.
15.10. - 12.12.2015

The ReproReality Hack Lab is a series of workshops initiated by the research avatara Transformella and the curator Suza Husse to collectively fathom queer-futurist reproduction scenarios. In the gatherings with the Science Fiction writer Ashkan Sepahvand, the architects / city activists Robert Burghardt and Anna Heilgemeier, the publishers collective Kitchen Politics and the transhackfeminists Gynepunks, Transformella and the participants will work on modes of a potential ReproReality. In the process of constructing the Bio-Techno Tribe, which Transformella calls for, the ReproReality Hack Lab gives occasion to interlace feminist techno utopias, bio-hacking and androgynous life forms as well as neo-communal architectures and queer Science Fiction.

 

WE ARE IN A MEETING

A Public Consultation between Ashkan Sepahvand, Quertek Incorporated Associate, and Transformella ikeae
14 November 2015, 12 – 17 h
in English

The meeting aims to integrate expert knowledge on Reproductive Futures into the Agenda on Living Environments, a 5-year corporate strategy developed by Quertek to expand its Übermaterial® Supplements and Services into the emerging market of Living Strategy Design. The fictional format of a "business consultation" will be used to explore the creative logic of capitalist realism and how performative speculation can hack the future. Based on a re-reading of Shulamith Firestone's 1970 text The Two Modes of Cultural History, where she argues for an "Anticultural Revolution" in the future, the consultation will reflect on practices that accelerate trans-formation.

ReproReal-Estate HackLab
A planning workshop for neo-communal architectures
Robert Burghardt & Anna Heilgemeir, Architects and City Activists 
15 November 2015, 11 – 19 h 
in German

How can we reformulate the spatial contexts of social (reproduction) relationships? Looking at the layout of historic communes – like the constructivists’ commune houses, the forms of communal sustenance or the communes that emerged in the 1968 movements – and todays models of shared living, the planning workshop initiates collective projections toward a queerfuturist commune architecture for the Transformellae-tribe. As a material principle which facilitates and undergrids modes of relating, the architectural ground plan will be taken as a starting point for the shared hacking of architectures, city areas, islands or territories.

Reproduction Technology, Reproductive Labor, and Family in the 21st Century
A dialogical workshop in two parts
Kitchen Politics, represented by Felicita Reuschling, Cultural producer
21 November 2015, 14 – 18 h
In German

The collective Kitchen Politics invites the participants on a journey through the history of soical techno-utopias and the present of reproduction-technological economies. Feminist visions of life forms and reproduction technologies from texts by Shulamith Firestone, Marge Piercy and Donna Haraway set the point of departure. In the second part of the workshop propositions from the 3rd volume of the Kitchen Politics series on biotechnologies in the context of neoliberalism will be introduced for a shared discussion with Transformella ikeae.

Kitchen Politics, Volume 3: Sie nennen es Leben, Wir nennen es Arbeit. Biotechnologie, Reproduktion und Familie im 21. Jahrhundert (‚They Call It Life. We Call It Labor. Biotechnoloy, Reproduction And Family in the 21st Century,’ Melinda Cooper, Catherine Waldby, Felicita Reuschling, Susanne Schultz, 2015).

Open Lab Gynepunk V.04
Open Science Friction Workshop
Gynepunks, represented by Paula Pin and Beka Iglesias, Artists, Researcher and Activists (Calafou, Barcelona)
22 November 2015, 12 – 19 h
in English

The collective Gynepunks works on the development of DIY-DIT equipment based on open technologies for body analytical experiments and radical forms of transdisciplinary collaboration. In the Open Lab, the participants will build DIY microscopes and 3D speculums to probe the bio hacking applications developed by the Gynepunks for the queerfuturist appropriation of reproduction technology. Based on their transhackfeminist practices and theories, the workshop opens a space for speculation at the crossings of biointerfaces, cybernetics, queer science, post-human discourses and techno-spiritual rituals. 

Please register for the ReproReality Hack Lab gatherings and workshops until two days before via post@district-berlin.com. For the Open Lab Gynepunk V.04 a fee of 15 EURO is required to cover the costs of materials for the construction of the DIY microscopes which will remain in the hands of the participants after the workshop.


BIOs

ROBERT BURGHARDT & ANNA HEILGEMEIR

Robert Burghardt is an architect and his work includes practical construction planning as well as conceptual models, e.g. his design of a monument to Modernism, or his teachings and theoretical discussions of architecture's political potential.

Anna Heilgemeir is an architect and co-founder of L.A.Müller (L.A.M.), an interventionist collective of women artists. Collaborating with clemens krug architektenHummel Architekten and Mietshäuser Syndikat, she develops and realizes concrete projects for communal living and models of ownership. Since 2013, she has been teaching at the Chair for Urban Design and Urbanization at TU-Berlin.

Within the alliance Stadt von Unten (City from Below), both of them are working on a communal and user-initiated development in the so-called 'Dragonerareal' in Berlin Kreuzberg and are part of a network of architects devoted to developing real estate and properties modelled on the ideas of the Mietshäuser Syndikat. She has been working on a shared practice with BARBARA since 2014.

 

GYNEPUNKS

Gynepunks are a collective founded in Calafou (Spain) with the objective is to develop a DIY-DIT body analytical equipment based on open technologies for extreme experimentation and radically transdisciplinary collaboration. We hack and build our own low-cost equipment performing smears, fluid analysis, biopsy, PAPs, synthesize hormones at will, blood exams, urinalysis, HIV tests, pain reliefs, ultrasound and endoscope diagnosis or what ever WE NEED. Glandular heretics, akelarres gynepunks, DIY abortive pots, midwife gangs, glitter abortions, spill placenta in every corner, hack analytic technics, ephemeral biolabs, DIT labs, hi-tech nursery secret meetings, black coats, chess coats. Reclaiming the history of natural knowledges, oral traditions, submarine recipes, seeking with hunger generate amounts of DIY lubricants, anti-conceptives, open doula domains, savage caring of any visceral hands on technologies, as menstrual extraction, all elevated at maximun potential of common learning and radical self-body-power...!

Paula Pin is a transhackfeminist performer and interdisciplinarity researcher. Graduated in Fine Arts from Barcelona and Sao Paolo, her work ranges from abstract video to circuit bending to investigations at the frontiers of biology, cybernetics and queer science. Questioning and blurring the boundary between science fiction and fact, much of her work investigates a broad range of subject matter relating to natural phenomena such as bioelectricity, bioluminescence, geochemistry and the cosmos.

Beka Iglesias: With a multidisciplinary background, her interactive performances and interactive digital media systems, her research and educational work focuses on biointerfaces, posthuman concepts, the dissolution of gender and telepresence as connective-magical device, always using free technologies, particularly creative code and arduino electronics.

http://pechblenda.hotglue.me/
http://jellypin.hotglue.me/
http://calafou.org
http://transnoise.tumblr.com/
http://network23.org/pechblendalab/
http://biosensing.tumblr.com
http://akelarrecyborg.tumblr.com
http://hackteria.org/

 

KITCHEN POLITICS

Felicita Reuschling lives and works in Berlin. She conceptualizes themed exhibitions, film series and events, does research and writing on the issues emerging during this (often collaborative) process. Most of the times, the tension between feminism and Marxism serves as her theoretical background. (Beyond Reproduction - Mothering, Kunstraum Kreuzberg 2011; domestic utopia, nGbK 2013, counterplanning from the kitchen, moviemento 2013; feminist stories, vierte welt 2015)

She is part of the editorial collective Kitchen Politics - Queer-Feminist Interventions. In their concise publications, Kitchen Politics offer scope for political discussions and analysis which until now have been connected to the concept of reproductive work in different ways, as recently in Sie nennen es Leben, wir nennen es Arbeit (They Call it Life, We Call it Work) featuring texts by Melinda Cooper and Catherine Waldby.

 

ASHKAN SEPAHVAND

Ashkan Sepahvand is a writer and researcher in Contemporary Celebration Studies. Intensities are crucial to his practice. Having spent many years culling non-knowledge and squandering orgasmic force from his experiences within today’s various leisure platforms, he has come to an embodied understanding that the future of this planet under technocapitalism involves a complete and final putting-to-work of our sensual capacities. How can we (re)learn to feel? Questioning the ways in which pleasure, leisure, joy, and sensuality can be critically problematized while also creatively worked with through theory-fiction and speculative design, his ongoing sci-fi research project “Mountgrove #” aims to narrate the possibilities and pitfalls for becoming-human through a micropolitics of ecstasy. 

 

Transformellae ikeae – Constructing The Bio-Techno ReproTribe is a project of District, made possible through the friendly support of the Berlin Senat, Department of Cultural Affairs. Thanks to the partners Malzfabrik, Nordvlies, u-ton, Meder CommTech and media partners Jungle World and Missy Magazine.

District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_dbabed89c8af3f94d1b6895c6b5ab4de2b.jpeg

Transformella ikeae - ReproReality Hack Lab, 2015

Transformellae ikeae – Constructing The Bio-Techno ReproTribe : ReproReality Hack Lab

Workshops und Zusammenkünfte mit Transformella ikeae in der FruchtbarkeitsCave 1.0.6

14 Nov 2015 - 22 Nov 2015

Im Rahmen von

Johannes Paul Raether
Transformellae ikeae – Constructing The Bio-Techno ReproTribe.
15.10. - 12.12.2015

Das ReproReality Hack Lab ist eine von der Forschungsavatara Transformella und der Kuratorin Suza Husse initiierte Reihe von Workshops zur kollektiven Auslotung queerfuturistischer Reproduktionsszenarien. In Zusammenkünften mit dem Science Fiction Autor Ashkan Sepahvand, den Architekt_innen / Stadtaktivist_innen Robert Burghardt und Anna Heilgemeier, dem Herausgeber_innenkollektiv Kitchen Politics und den Transhackfeminist_innen Gynepunks arbeiten Transformella und die Teilnehmer_innen an den Modi einer potentiellen ReproRealität. Auf dem Weg zur Konstruktion des von Transformella ausgerufenen Bio-Techno-Stammes gibt das ReproReality Hack Lab Anlass zur Verschränkung von feministischen Technoutopien, Bio-Hacking und androgynen Lebensformen, von neo-kommunalen Architekturen und queerer Science Fiction. 

 

WE ARE IN A MEETING
Eine öffentliche Beratung zwischen Ashkan Sepahvand, Gesellschafter der Quertek Incorporated und Transformella ikeae
14. November 2015, 12 – 17 Uhr
auf englisch

Anlass des Treffens ist die Einbeziehung von Expertise über reproduktive Zukünfte in die Agenda on Living Environments der Quertek zur Erweiterung seiner Übermaterial® Ergänzungsstoffe und Dienstleistungen. Diese auf fünf Jahre ausgerichtete Unternehmensstrategie zielt auf die Erschließung neu entstehender Märkte im Bereich des strategischen Lebensdesigns. Das Format der fiktionalen „Unternehmensberatung“ wird zum Modus der Auseinandersetzung mit der kreativen Logik des kapitalistischen Realismus und mit der Frage, wie sich durch performative Spekulation die Zukunft hacken ließe. Basierend auf Shulamith Firestones Text The Two Modes of Cultural History (1970), in der sie eine „Gegenkulturelle Revolution“ in der Zukunft vorausdenkt, geht es in dem Treffen um Praktiken zur Beschleunigung von Trans-formation.

ReproReal-Estate HackLab
Ein Planungsworkshop für neo-kommunale Architekturen
Robert Burghardt & Anna Heilgemeir, Architekt_innen und Stadtaktivist_innen
15. November 2015, 11 – 19 Uhr
auf deutsch

Wie lassen sich die räumlichen Zusammenhänge gesellschaftlicher (Reproduktions)Beziehungen neu formulieren? Mit Blick auf die Grundrisse historischer Kommunen, wie die Kommunehäuser der Konstruktivistinnen, Formen kommunaler Versorgung oder die Kommunen der 68'er, und heutiger Modelle gemeinschaftlicher Wohn– und Lebensformen bietet der Planungsworkshop Anlässe zur kollektiven Projektion der queerfuturistischen Kommunearchitekur des Transformellae-Stammes. Als materielles Prinzip, das Beziehungsweisen ermöglicht und untermauert, wird der Grundriss zum Ausgangspunkt des gemeinsamen Hackens von Architekturen, Stadtvierteln, Inseln oder Gebieten.

Reproduktionstechnologie, Reproduktive Arbeit und Familie im 21.Jahrhundert
Ein dialogischer Workshop in zwei TeilenKitchen Politics, vertreten durch Felicita Reuschling, Kulturproduzentin
21. November 2015, 14 – 18 Uhr
auf deutsch 

Das Kollektiv Kitchen Politics lädt zur gemeinsamen Reise durch die Geschichte von sozialen Technoutopien und die neoliberale Gegenwart reproduktionstechnologischer Ökonomien ein. Zu Beginn des Workshops steht ein Rückblick auf feministische Visionen zu Lebensformen und Reproduktionstechnologien aus Texten von Shulamith Firestone, Marge Piercy und Donna Haraway. Im zweiten Teil werden die Thesen aus Band 3 der Reihe Kitchen Politics  zu Biotechnologien im Kontext des Neoliberalismus vorgestellt und abschließend im Gespräch mit Transformella ikeae diskutiert.

Kitchen Politics Band 3: Sie nennen es Leben, Wir nennen es Arbeit. Biotechnologie, Reproduktion und Familie im 21. Jahrhundert (Melinda Cooper, Catherine Waldby, Felicita Reuschling, Susanne Schultz, 2015) 

Open Lab Gynepunk V.04
Open Science Friction Workshop
Gynepunks, vertreten durch Paula Pin und Beka Iglesias, Künstlerinnen, Forscherinnen und Aktivistinnen (Calafou, Barcelona)
22. November 2015, 12 – 19 Uhr
auf englisch

Das Kollektiv Gynepunks arbeitet an der Entwicklung von DIY-DIT-Geräten auf der Grundlage von Open Technologies für körperanalytische Experimente und radikale Formen transdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit. Im Open Lab werden die Teilnehmer_innen DIYMikroskope oder 3D-Spekulums herstellen und die von Gynepunks entwickelten Bio-Hacking-Anwendungen auf ihr Potential für die queerfeministiche Aneignung von Reproduktionstechnologie befragen. Basierend auf ihren transhackfeministischen Praktiken und Theorien öffnet der Workshop einen Spekulationsraum an der Schnittstelle von Biointerfaces, Kybernetik, queerer Naturwissenschaft, posthumanen Diskursen und technospirituellen Ritualen. 

Bitte melden Sie sich für die Versammlungen und Workshops des ReproReality Hack Lab bis zwei Tage vor der Veranstaltung über post@district-berlin.com an. Für den Workshop Open Lab Gynepunk V.04 fällt eine Materialgebühr von 15 EURO für die Bestandteile zum Bau der DIY-Mikroskope an. Nach dem Workshop gehören sie den Teilnehmer_innen.


BIOs

ROBERT BURGHARDT & ANNA HEILGEMEIR

Robert Burghardt ist Architekt und arbeitet zwischen praktischer Bauplanung und konzeptionellen Modellen, wie seinem Entwurf für ein Denkmal für die Moderne, sowie Lehre und theoretischer Auseinandersetzung mit dem politischen Potential von Architektur. 

Anna Heilgemeir ist Architektin und Mitbegründerin des interventionistischen Künstlerinnenkollektivs L.A.Müller (L.A.M.). In Kollaboration mit clemens krug architektenHummel Architekten und dem Mietshäuser Syndikat entwickelt und realisiert sie konkrete Projekte für gemeinschaftliche Lebensformen und Eigentumsmodelle. Seit 2013 lehrt sie am Chair for Urban Design and Urbanization an der TU-Berlin.

Beide arbeiten im Bündnis Stadt von Unten an einer kommunalen und nutzerinneninitierten Entwicklung am sogenannten Dragonerareals in Berlin Kreuzberg und sind Teil eines Netzwerk von Architekt_innen das sich für die Entwicklung von Immobilien und Grundstücken nach dem Modell des Mietshäuser Syndikats einsetzt. Seit 2014 arbeiten sie mit BARBARA an einer gemeinsamen Praxis.

 

GYNEPUNKS

„Was auch immer WIR BRAUCHEN, hacken wir und bauen es kostengünstig selbst.“ Gynepunks sind ein Kollektiv, das in Calafou (Spanien) gegründet wurde. Ihr Ziel ist es, DIY-DIT Untersuchungsinstrumente zu entwickeln, die auf offen zugänglichen Technologien für waghalsige Experimente und radikal interdisziplinäre Kollaboration basieren. Abstriche, Flüssigkeitsanalytik, Biopsien, PAP-Tests, Hormonsynthese nach Belieben, Blutbilder, Urinuntersuchungen, HIV Tests, Schmerztherapie, Ultraschall und endoskopische Diagnosen. Drüsenketzerei, Gynepunk-Hexerei, DIY Abtreibungskessel, Hebammen-Gangs, Glitzer-Interruptio, verschüttete Placenta in allen Ecken, gehackte Analysetechniken, ephemere Biolabs, DIT-Labore, Geheimtreffen für High-Tech Kindergärten in schwarzen und karierten Mänteln. Ausgehend von einer hungrigen Suche nach DIY Gleit- und Verhütungsmitteln, nach Open Doula Domains, geht es ihnen darum, die Geschichte von Naturwissen, mündlichen Überlieferungen, von Unterwasserrezepturen zurückzuerobern und wilde, instinktgeleitete Formen der Heilung und Pflege mithilfe von Hands-On Technologien zu erproben. Für all das agieren Gynepunks auf der Basis kommunalen Lernens und radikaler Self-Body-Power! 

Paula Pin ist Transhackfeministin, Performerin und interdisziplinäre Forscherin. Sie hat Bildende Kunst in Barcelona und São Paulo studiert und ihre Arbeiten umfassen abstrakte Videos, Circuit Bending und Untersuchungen an der Schnittstelle von Biologie, Cybernetik und Queer Science. Oft untersucht sie in ihren Arbeiten ein weites Spektrum von Themen aus dem Gebiet der Naturphänomene, wie zum Beispiel Bioelektrizität, Bioluminiszenz, Geochemie und den Kosmos, wobei die Grenzen zwischen Science Fiction und Fakt in Frage gestellt und unscharf werden.

Beka Iglesias hat einen multidisziplinären Background. Ihre interaktiven Performances und digitalen Mediensysteme, ihre Forschungen und edukative Arbeit drehen sich alle um Biointerfaces, posthumane Konzepte, die Auflösung von Gender und um TelePresence als eine konnektiv-magische Vorrichtung, wobei sie stets mit frei zugänglichen Technologien arbeitet, besonders mit Creative Code und Arduino Elektronik. 

http://pechblenda.hotglue.me/
http://jellypin.hotglue.me/
http://calafou.org
http://transnoise.tumblr.com/
http://network23.org/pechblendalab/
http://biosensing.tumblr.com
http://akelarrecyborg.tumblr.com
http://hackteria.org/

 

KITCHEN POLITICS

Felicita Reuschling lebt und arbeitet in Berlin an verschiedenen Baustellen: Sie konzipiert  (häufig kollaborativ) thematische Ausstellungen, Film- und Veranstaltungsreihen, forscht und schreibt zu den sich daraus ergebenden Fragestellungen, meist vor dem Hintergrund des Spannungsverhältnisses zwischen Feminismus und Marxismus. (Beyond Reproduction - Mothering, Kunstraum Kreuzberg 2011; domestic utopia, nGbK 2013, counterplanning from the kitchen, moviemento 2013; feminist stories, vierte welt 2015)

Sie ist Mitglied des Herausgeber_innenkollektivs Kitchen Politics - Queerfeministische Interventionen. Kitchen Politics gibt in kurzen Publikationen politischen Diskussionen und Analysen Raum , die bislang in unterschiedlicher weise mit dem Begriff Reproduktiver Arbeit verknüpft sind, wie zuletzt in Sie nennen es Leben, wir nennen es Arbeit mit Texten von Melinda Cooper und Catherine Waldby.

 

ASHKAN SEPAHVAND

Ashkan Sepahvand befasst sich in seinen Texten und seiner Forschung mit Contemporary Celebration Studies. Intensitäten sind essenziell für seine Praxis. Viele Jahre kämpfte er gegen das Nicht-Wissen und bezog eine verschwenderische, orgasmische Kraft aus seinen Erfahrungen mit den verschiedensten Freizeitplattformen im Netz. Er kam dabei zu der unmittelbar-körperlichen Einsicht, dass die Zukunft dieses Planeten unter der Herrschaft des Technokapitalismus von der völligen und endgültigen Ausschöpfung unserer sinnlichen Kapazitäten abhängt. Wie können wir (wieder) lernen zu fühlen? Sein fortlaufendes Sci-Fi Forschungsprojekt "Mountgrove #" handelt von den Chancen und Risiken, die sich für das Mensch-Werden durch eine Mikropolitik der Extase ergeben, und sucht nach Wegen der kritischen Hinterfragung von Genuss, Freizeit, Freude und Sinnlichkeit, wobei er auch kreativ mit theoretischer Fiktion und spekulativen Designansätzen arbeitet.

 

Johannes Paul Raether: Transformellae ikeae – Constructing The Bio-Techno ReproTribe ist ein Projekt von District, ermöglicht durch die freundliche Unterstützung der Kulturverwaltung des Landes Berlin. Dank den Sponsoren Malzfabrik, Nordvlies, u-ton, Meder CommTech sowie den Medienpartnern Jungle World und Missy Magazine.