District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_db1359c11b1eed9ef26098160de0f6e8a7.jpeg

KLASSENSPRACHEN [Class Languages]

Exhibition. Debate. Magazine. Initiated by Manuela Ammer, Eva Birkenstock, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier and Stephanie Weber.

20 Jul 2017 - 17 Sep 2017

 

 

 

As a ‘struggle of form', C. is not only concerned with political forms (…). The struggles of form are struggles of meaning; they imbue culture and language with active resistance. (…) “The sign becomes the arena of C.”

In dictionary entries, their initials represent terms after their first mention. Class, class struggle, class contradiction, as well as crisis, catastrophe, and colonialism turn into C. Our C. stands for Class Languages – and thus for a terrain of antagonisms in which past political orthodoxies encounter the social brutalities of the present. 

In this present, questions of the translation, articulation and (bodily) inscription of these divergences have become part of an all-encompassing process, whose transformations and intensifications we want to foreground with CLASS LANGUAGES: artistically, curatorially, within writing and in debates. We are not interested in presenting art as a stand-in for politics, but rather want to investigate the signatures, markers and forms of the deeply antagonistic relations, of which it is a material part: What we are concerned with, in other words, is art as a class language as much as class languages within art. 

We want to start mapping, appropriating, occupying and expanding a terrain on which we continuously produce fault lines. In three formats – in exhibitions, magazines, and debates – we want to periodically confront the notion of class languages in/of contemporary art and probe how they could be opened up towards a collective development of a practical knowledge, of forms of agency within and beyond art. Towards a notion of class that does not so much consist of mutually affirmative identifications but rather of shared forms of negativities, of translations of antagonistic experiences alongside one another. Leaving behind orthodox notions of class and the grammar of productivity attached to them as well as the ideologies of progress and freedom that they evoke, begs the question of the possibilities of a concept of class beyond such nationally organized modernisms. CLASS LANGUAGES seeks to pursue precisely such questions: How can we bring practical solidarities into articulation that rise out of the forms of oppression that unite and divide us alike – within art and beyond? 

A classed institution of globalized capitalism itself, art is not at all a privileged site of recovering authentic communication amidst the cold abstraction of the value form. Its contemporary form is based on precisely those modernisms that frequently made the notion of class appear unacceptably orthodox. Consequently, CLASS LANGUAGES is concerned with a heterodox perspective on both class and art. As the linguist Valentin Voloshinov observed in the short quote at the outset of this text: Each form is the terrain of class struggles. The first exhibition at District, the debate program that follows and the first issue of the magazine KLASSENSPRACHEN, which will be published at the closing of the show in September, present a diverse collection of materials, an exemplary view of those artistic, poetic, critical, media, and theoretical positions which we engaged in our search for points of orientation regarding the question of class languages. This collaborative working environment wants to assemble a panorama of its forms and antagonisms: Art is a starting point but – so we hope – not the end point of our ongoing commitment.

Participants: Kai Althoff/Isa Genzken, Gerry Bibby, Cana Bilir-Meier, Sean Bonney, Hans-Christian Dany, Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu, Michaela Eichwald, Frank Engster, Fehras Publishing Practices, keyon gaskin, Sarah M. Harrison, Ann Hirsch, HATE MAGAZIN, Karl Holmqvist, Infofiction, Stephan Janitzky, Jutta Koether, Justin Lieberman, Hanne Lippard, Thomas Locher, MC Baustelle, Sidsel Meineche Hansen, Karolin Meunier, Rachel O’Reilly, Phase 2, Johannes Paul Raether, Monika Rinck, Aykan Safoğlu, Juliana Spahr, spot the silence, Starship, Josef Strau, Marlene Streeruwitz, Hans Stützer, Linda Stupart, Ryan Trecartin, Peter Wächtler, Ian White, Tanja Widmann, Frank B. Wilderson III, Susanne M. Winterling, Alenka Zupančič and others.

PROGRAM

EXHIBITION

Thursday, 20.07.2017
7 pm OPENING

Opening hours: 21.07.-17.09.2017, Wednesday - Sunday 2-6 pm 


DEBATE

Friday, 21.07.2017

7 pm KLASSENSPRACHEN / CLASS LANGUAGES – Translations and Transformations 
Monika Rinck (Berlin) and Juliana Spahr (Oakland) in conversation (EN)

The debate program of KLASSENSPRACHEN opens with short presentations by and a conversation between Monika Rinck and Juliana Spahr who, from different perspectives, have both worked on the urgency that poetry may claim today: as shared process of individuation, as a terrain of collectivity, as a political form – opening up reflection on the ways that class traverses it, transforms into it and appears as the subject and object of its translation. 

Monika Rinck is a writer, translator and poet based in Berlin. Her recent writings include Honigprotokolle (2012), Risiko und Idiotie. Streitschriften (2015) and Wir. Essay (2015). She curated the Poetica III (Cologne) 2017, and the poets-in-residency program Kur und Kür for Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017. See also www.begriffsstudio.de

Juliana Spahr is a writer, poet and critic based in Oakland, California. Recent publications include That Winter the Wolf Came (2015), An Army of Lovers (with David Buuck, 2013) and Everybody’s Autonomy (2001), a.o. Together with Jena Osman Spahr, she edits the book series Chain Links, and with Joshua Clover and Jasper Bernes she edits Commune Editions.


Saturday, 22.07.2017

12 am Performance Hanne Lippard (Berlin) / Response Marlene Streeruwitz (Vienna) (EN / DE) 
1 pm Lecture Marlene Streeruwitz (Vienna) / Response Hanne Lippard (Berlin) (DE / EN)

In this reciprocal format, artist, performer and poet Hanne Lippard (*1984 Milton Keynes) and poet, playwright and novelist Marlene Streeruwitz (*1950 Baden upon Vienna) present to each other one of their works and mutually comment upon it. In both their writings and stagings, though from very different vantage points, the question of femininity features as a social locus and space of (classed) violence that is distinguished by how language is processed and embodied. 

Hanne Lippard is based in Berlin. Recent shows include Flesh, KW Berlin (2017), FOAM, LambdaLambdaLambda, Prishtina (2016) and Fluidity (group show), Kunstverein in Hamburg (2016). Her new book This Embodiment was just released with Broken Dimanche Press, Berlin. See also www.hannelippard.com

Marlene Streeruwitz is based in Vienna, London and New York. In the last decades she has published widely in literary and poetic forms and has authored audio plays and theoretical essays. Recent publications include Yseut (2016), Wahlkampfroman (2016), So wird das Leben (2016), Poetik. Tübinger und Frankfurter Vorlesungen (2014) and Nachkommen (2014). See also www.marlenestreeruwitz.at

3 pm Politisch publizieren / künstlerisch publizieren: Einige Modelle
Fehras Publishing Practices (Berlin), HATE Magazine (Berlin), Phase 2 (Berlin/Leipzig) and Starship (Berlin) in conversation (DE)

This panel is dedicated to different publishing formats that have taken the regular, continuous as well as variable form of the magazine as their starting point but do not necessarily still produce within its frame. As an irregularly published print magazine, HATE MAGAZINE was founded in 2008 in Berlin and today primarily operates as an online format. Phase 2 was established in 2001 as a discussion platform of the antifascist and radical Left, as a printed form of their debates. What is at stake here – as is with Fehras Publishing Practices that exist in Berlin only since 2015 – is the shifting manifestation of political form in print. Fehras Publishing Practices adjusts its form to the respective format that its subject matter – the presence of North African and Middle Eastern publications in the English-speaking art world – assumes. Within this art world, Starship exists since 1998. As an artists’ and art magazine Starship has continually altered its mode of presentation, like Fehras, adjusting it as artistic form in relation to its subject matter. Using the example of these different publishing practices, the panel negotiates the question of artistic and political forms of radicality in print today.

6 pm Writing Towards an Aesthetic Practice? Writing Towards Art?
Justin Lieberman (Munich), Rachel O’Reilly (Berlin) and Josef Strau in conversation (EN)

The three artists and writers brought together on this panel have worked with largely different forms of writing as part of practices that do not seek to define art as a safe haven for aesthetic forms, but rather expand artistic production to a more general sense of aesthetic authorship – a sense of risk. In this panel, the question of risking art as an aesthetic practice is dedicated specifically to the roles language can play therein – and has been playing in the work of Lieberman, O’Reilly and Strau. 

Justin Lieberman (*Gainesville, FL) is a Munich-based artist whose recent shows include Installation View, Galerie Christine Mayer, Munich (2016), Je t’Empire, Le Confort Moderne, Poitiers (2015) and Squeezed Relief, Martos Gallery, New York (2014). Latest publications include The Corrector’s Custom Pre-Fab House (2015), Address to the Student Art Collective (Adjunct Commuter Weekly, 2017), Michel Auder’s Machinic Bohemia (2010/14) and Hopi Basket Weaving (2006). See also www.justin-lieberman.com

Rachel O’Reilly (*Gladstone, AU) is a poet, critic, artist and researcher based in Berlin. She teaches at the Dutch Art Institute and has recently collaborated with Natasha Ginwala a.o. on the public program of the Contour Biennial (2017). O’Reilly has co-authored the book On Neutrality: The Letter from Melos (2017) with Jelena Vesić and Vladimir Jeric and has presented her ongoing artistic work The Gas Imaginary (2016-) at different places, amongst them the Gladstone Regional Art Gallery and Museum (2016) and The Jerusalem Show (2017).

Josef Strau (*Vienna, AT) is an artist based in Frankfurt and New York. His recent solo exhibitions include Künstlerhaus Bremen (2017), House of Gaga, Mexico City (2016) and Secession, Vienna (2015). Strau has written widely both within the frame of his own practice as well as for catalogues and magazines. Amongst others, his publications include the essay “The Non-productive attitude” (2006), and most recently the books Dreaming Turtle (2015), The New World 2, Travels in Turtle Island (2015) and The Atlantis Search Engine (2013). In 1990, together with Stephan Dillemuth, he founded the artist-run space Friesenwall 120 (Cologne), and 2002-06 he was the curator of Galerie Meerrettich at the Volksbühne (Berlin).

8 pm After the Ice, the Deluge
Performance Linda Stupart (London) (EN) 

In their performance, part of their exhibition contribution, Linda Stupart will engage with the queering of scientific language, the burden of objects/image as proof and the relation between bodies and horror/abjection through the intersection of two divergent subjects: Morgellon's syndrome and the melting polar ice caps. 

Linda Stupart (*Cape Town) is an artist, writer and educator based in London. Recent solo exhibitions include A Dead Writer Exists in Words and Language is a Type of Virus at Arcadia Missa, London (2016), where Stupart also launched their debut novella, Virus (2016). Stupart’s work has been shown/performed at Matt’s Gallery, The Showroom, a.m. gallery, the ICA and Guest Projects in London. See also www.lindastupart.net

 

WORKSHOP

MC BAUSTELLE: KLASSEN SPRECHEN
On Class, Identifications and Conditions of Production in the Arts

Thursday, 14.09.2017
5pm - 8.30 pm (dinner break included)

Workshop and radio programme
with Shanti Suki Osman and Anna-Lena Wenzel

During the construction phase of Klassensprachen, District’s production team, under the name of MC Baustelle (MC construction site), produced eight audio tracks that can be listened to in the exhibition. Here sounds and conversations from the construction site, but also autobiographical references to class and working conditions, become intertwined. In a public workshop MC Baustelle will incorporate new voices that will be tranferred to a radio programme, and broadcast on Missy Radio.

The participants of the workshop are invited to contribute to the dialogue with their own impressions of the exhibition and their experiences of class, of the realities of work and fluid identification in the field of art.

The tracks from MC Baustelle can be listened to here.
The tracks from MC Baustelle II can be listened to here

Further information on the workshop here.

 

DISCUSSION, PERFORMANCE, MAGAZINE RELEASE AND CLOSING PARTY

Saturday, 16.09.2017

On the penultimate day of the exhibition KLASSENSPRACHEN at District Berlin, we celebrate the release of issue #0 of our eponymous magazine (with contributions by, among others, Cultural Capital Cooperative Object, Hans-Christian Dany, Övül Durmuşoğlu, Sarah M. Harrison, Christiane KettelerRachel O'Reilly, Susanne M. Winterling, and artists from the exhibition). A day of talks, discussions, a performance and a party will conclude KLASSENSPRACHEN in Berlin, whose next iteration will open in November at the Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen in Düsseldorf.

 

4 pm Frank B. Wilderson III (University of California, Irvine) 
moderated by Kathy-Ann Tan (John-F.-Kennedy-Institut, FU Berlin)

In his talk, Frank B. Wilderson III will fundamentally question the negatively defined concept of class that has been central to the exhibition and debates programme of KLASSENSPRACHEN. One of his starting points in this respect is the history of the Black Liberation Army as an anti-systemic movement whose militancy exceeds the boundaries of modern political subjectivity (unlike, e.g., the RAF). Wilderson will discuss how the historical development and consolidation of class as bearer of Communist Revolution is based on a notion of political freedom that always already presupposes and excludes the black as slave. The modern notion of freedom that underlies the subject of labour finds its counterpart in slavery, rather than being located beyond it. Moderated by Kathy-Ann Tan, Wilderson will specify his theses in relation to a medium that has assumed its own particular place in his work and which, at the opening weekend of KLASSENSPRACHEN, Juliana Spahr and Monika Rinck have designated the site of a fundamental reconstruction of individuating thought: the poetic.

Frank B. Wilderson, III is a writer, poet, scholar, activist and filmmaker. He teaches Drama and African American studies at the University of California, Irvine. His fiction and creative prose, as well as his critical and scholarly work, have been published internationally and include Incognegro: a Memoir of Exile and Apartheid (2008), Red, White, & Black: Cinema and the Structure of U.S. Antagonisms (2010) and “The Black Liberation Army and the Paradox of Political Engagement” (2014).

Kathy-Ann Tan works as a literary scholar at the John F. Kennedy Institute of the Freie Universität Berlin. Her latest publications include Reconfiguring Citizenship and National Identity in North American Literary Imagination (2015) and, previously, The Nonconformist's Poem: Radical “Poetics of Autobiography” in the Works of Lyn Hejinian, Susan Howe and Leslie Scalapino (2008). In her current research project, Tan explores “The Aesthetics of Decolonization”.

 

6 – 6.30 pm Break 

 

6.30 pm Describing in Outs
Johannes Paul Raether and Tanja Widmann in conversation about two works

The allegedly neutral and standardized “work description” is ubiquitous in relation to art works: We encounter it in wall texts and on labels, in criticism and essays, and in the context of art education activities. Mostly, it is considered a necessary evil, a means to an end (namely, criticism or praise), a somewhat dull reflection of the work proper or tedious groundwork for the shaping of opinion. Conversely, one may claim work descriptions as the foundation of any communication about art: What they acknowledge or ignore, how they evaluate and structure, which (language) barriers they create or remove, determines access to the work in question. Johannes Paul Raether and Tanja Widmann will describe to one another a “work” of their choosing and respond to the descriptions of their respective counterpart. Neutral text turns into confrontational dialogue.


8 – 8.30 pm Break

 

8.30 pm its not a thing
Performance by keyon gaskin, ca. 50 min.

keyon gaskin prefers not to contextualize their performances with their credentials.

“its not a thing is an anti-theatrical solo performance problematizing trends in contemporary performance. With the work gaskin poses questions around the ‘multifarious nature of care and opacity.’ (…) undermines the roles of performer and spectator challenging our rules of engagement. The work is a punk gesture. It is not your typical theatrical experience and that is the point” - Ben Pryor, Curator American Realness, NYC

 

9.30 pm Cocktail and Magazine Launch

 

10 pm Party with music by Jane D and Skrait

 

 

CLASS LANGUAGES was initiated by Manuela Ammer, Eva Birkenstock, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier and Stephanie Weber. The next iteration of CLASS LANGUAGES is an exhibition at the Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf, opening on 20 October 2017.

Exhibition design: Fotini Lazaridou-Hatzigoga. Graphic design: Offshore Studio.

Artistic Director District: Suza Husse with Janine Halka and Andrea Caroline Keppler. Executive Direcrtor: Frank Sippel. Production manager: Naomi Hennig. Communication: Johanna Ekenhorst. Technical support: MC Baustelle (Francy Fabritz, Josephine Freiberg, Anka Mirkin, Winnie Olbrich and Hassan Suleiman). Assistance: Eva Storms and Yoonhee Kim. Finances: Annett Hoffmann

A project by District Berlin funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin. Supported by Cine Plus and Jungle World. 

For further information please visit: http://klassensprachen.org/

District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_db1359c11b1eed9ef26098160de0f6e8a7.jpeg

KLASSENSPRACHEN [Class Languages]

Ausstellung. Debatte. Magazin. Initiiert von Manuela Ammer, Eva Birkenstock, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier und Stephanie Weber.

20 Jul 2017 - 17 Sep 2017

 

 

 

Als 'Form-Krieg' dreht der K sich nicht nur um die politischen Formen (...). Die Form-Kämpfe sind zugleich Kämpfe um Sinn; sie erfüllen Kultur und Sprache mit lebendigem Widerstand (...).  „Das Zeichen wird zu Arena des K.“ 

In Wörterbucheinträgen wird das besprochene Wort nach seiner ersten Nennung durch seine Initiale repräsentiert. Klasse, Klassenkampf, Klassenwiderspruch werden, ebenso wie Krise, Katastrophe oder Kolonialismus, zu K. Unser K. steht für KLASSENSPRACHEN – und damit für ein Terrain von Antagonismen, in dem sich die politischen Orthodoxien der Vergangenheit mit den sozialen Brutalitäten der Gegenwart treffen.

In dieser Gegenwart sind Fragen der Übersetzung, der Versprachlichung und der (körperlichen) Einschreibung jener Divergenzen Teil eines allumfassenden Prozesses geworden, dessen Veränderungen und Zuspitzungen wir mit KLASSENSPRACHEN in den Vordergrund ziehen wollen, künstlerisch, kuratorisch, im Schreiben und in der Debatte. Es geht uns nicht darum, die Kunst als Politik auszugeben, sondern sie auf die Signaturen, die Marker und Formen der zutiefst antagonistischen Verhältnisse zu überprüfen, deren materieller Teil sie ist: Es geht uns um Kunst als Klassensprache ebenso wie um Klassensprachen in der Kunst.

Wir möchten beginnen, ein Terrain zu kartieren, uns anzueignen, zu besetzen und ausufern zu lassen, auf dem wir einen fortlaufenden Problemaufriss produzieren. In drei Formaten – in Ausstellungen, Magazinen und Debatten – wollen wir uns von nun an in unregelmäßigen Abständen der Konfrontation mit/von Klassensprachen in der Bildenden Kunst der Gegenwart widmen und prüfen, wie diese in Richtung der gemeinsamen Entwicklung eines praktischen Wissens, einer Handlungsfähigkeit innerhalb und außerhalb der Kunst geöffnet werden können. Für ein Verständnis also, das nicht so sehr auf eine positive gemeinsame Identifizierung hofft, als vielmehr in miteinander geteilten Negativitäten bestehen will, in Übersetzungen antagonistischer Erfahrungen aneinander. Denn wenn man das orthodoxe Verständnis von Klasse hinter sich lässt, die Grammatik von Produktivität, die ihr anhaftet, und die exklusiven Ideologien von Fortschritt und Freiheit, die sie aufruft, stellt sich die Frage nach den Möglichkeiten eines Klassenbegriffs im Jenseits solcher national organisierten Modernismen. KLASSENSPRACHEN möchte diesen Fragen nachgehen: Wie können aus miteinander geteilten und uns voneinander teilenden Formen gegenwärtiger Unterdrückung praktische Solidaritäten sprachlich werden – innerhalb der Kunst und jenseits von ihr?

Als weithin klassenspezifische Institution des globalisierten Kapitalismus ist die Kunst selbst keineswegs ein Hort authentischer Kommunikation inmitten der kalten Abstraktion der Wertform. Ihre gegenwärtige Form basiert auf ebenjenen Modernismen, die schon den Begriff der Klasse oft so unzumutbar orthodox erscheinen lassen. KLASSENSPRACHEN geht es dementsprechend sowohl um eine Heterodoxie der Klasse als auch der Kunst. Wie der eingangs zitierte Linguist Valentin Voloshinov bereits 1929 feststellte: Jede Form ist ein Terrain von Klassenkämpfen. Die erste Ausstellung bei District, das darauf folgende Debattenwochenende und die erste Ausgabe der Zeitschrift KLASSENSPRACHEN, die zum Ende der Ausstellung im September erscheint, bilden einen breit aufgestellten Auftakt, eine Materialsammlung, eine exemplarische Ansicht derjenigen künstlerischen, poetischen, kritischen, publizistischen und theoretischen Positionen, bei denen wir nach Anhaltspunkten für die Frage der Klassensprachen suchen. Dieser kollaborative Arbeitszusammenhang will ein Panorama ihrer Formen und Widerstreite erstellen: Hierin tritt die Kunst als Ausgangs- aber – so hoffen wir – nicht als Endpunkt unseres fortlaufenden Engagements auf.

Teilnehmer*innen: Kai Althoff/Isa Genzken, Gerry Bibby, Cana Bilir-Meier, Sean Bonney,Hans-Christian Dany, Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu, Michaela Eichwald, Frank Engster, Fehras Publishing Practices, keyon gaskin, Sarah M. Harrison, Ann Hirsch, HATE MAGAZIN, Karl Holmqvist, Infofiction, Stephan Janitzky, Jutta Koether, Justin Lieberman, Hanne Lippard, Thomas Locher, MC Baustelle, Sidsel Meineche Hansen, Karolin Meunier, Rachel O’Reilly, Phase 2, Johannes Paul Raether, Monika Rinck, Aykan Safoğlu, Juliana Spahr, spot the silence, Starship, Josef Strau, Marlene Streeruwitz, Hans Stützer, Linda Stupart, Ryan Trecartin, Peter Wächtler, Ian White, Tanja Widmann, Frank B. Wilderson III, Susanne M. Winterling, Alenka Zupančič und andere.

PROGRAMM

AUSSTELLUNG

Donnerstag, 20.07.2017 
19 Uhr ERÖFFNUNG

Öffnungszeiten: 21.07.-17.09.2017, Mittwoch bis Sonntag 14-18 Uhr

 

DEBATTE

Freitag, 21.07.2017

19 Uhr KLASSENSPRACHEN / CLASS LANGUAGES – Übersetzungen und Transformationen 
Monika Rinck (Berlin) und Juliana Spahr (Oakland) im Gespräch (EN)

Das Debattenprogramm von KLASSENSPRACHEN eröffnet mit kurzen Präsentationen und einem anschließenden Gespräch zwischen Monika Rinck und Juliana Spahr. Aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln haben sich beide mit der Relevanz auseinandergesetzt, die Poesie heute für sich beanspruchen kann – sei es als geteilter Individuationsprozess, als Terrain von Kollektivität oder als politische Ausdrucksform – und damit, wie Klasse sie durchzieht, transformiert und als Subjekt und Objekt ihrer Übersetzungen erscheint.

Monika Rinck lebt und arbeitet als Autorin, Übersetzerin und Lyrikerin in Berlin. Zu ihren aktuellen Arbeiten zählen Honigprotokolle (2012), Risiko und Idiotie. Streitschriften (2015) und Wir. Essay (2015). 2017 kuratierte sie die Poetica III in Köln, sowie das poets-in-residence-Programm Kur und Kür der Skulptur Projekte Münster. Siehe auch www.begriffsstudio.de

Juliana Spahr lebt und arbeitet als Autorin, Lyrikerin und Kritikerin in Oakland, Kalifornien. Zu ihren aktuellen Publikationen zählen unter anderem That Winter the Wolf Came (2015), An Army of Lovers (mit David Buuck, 2013) und Everybody’s Autonomy (2001). Außerdem ist sie gemeinsam mit Jena Osman Herausgeberin der Buchreihe Chain Links, mit Joshua Clover und Jasper Bernes gibt sie außerdem Commune Editions heraus.

Samstag, 22.07.2017

12 Uhr Performance Hanne Lippard (Berlin) / Kommentar Marlene Streeruwitz (Wien) (EN / DE)
13 Uhr Lesung Marlene Streeruwitz (Wien) / Kommentar Hanne Lippard (Berlin) (DE / EN)

In diesem dialogischen Format präsentieren die Künstlerin, Performerin und Lyrikerin Hanne Lippard (*1984 Milton Keynes) und die Lyrikerin, Dramatikerin und Romanautorin Marlene Streeruwitz (*1950 Baden bei Wien) sich gegenseitig jeweils eine ihrer Arbeiten. Wenn auch aus sehr verschiedenen Perspektiven, verhandeln die Texte und Inszenierungen beider die Frage von Weiblichkeit als einem gesellschaftlichen Austragungsort von (Klassen-)Gewalt, der davon gekennzeichnet ist, wie Sprache gebraucht und verkörpert wird.  

Hanne Lippard lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Zu ihren aktuellen Ausstellungen zählen Flesh, KW Berlin (2017), FOAM, LambdaLambdaLambda, Prishtina (2016) und Fluidity (Gruppenausstellung), Kunstverein in Hamburg (2016). Ihr neues Buch This Embodiment erschien kürzlich bei Broken Dimanche Press, Berlin. Siehe auch www.hannelippard.com

Marlene Streeruwitz lebt und arbeitet in Wien, London und New York. Über die letzten Jahrzehnte hat sie zahlreiche literarische und lyrische Werke veröffentlicht sowie Hörspiele und theoretische Essays verfasst. Ihre aktuellen Publikationen umfassen u.a. Yseut (2016), Wahlkampfroman (2016), So wird das Leben (2016), Poetik. Tübinger und Frankfurter Vorlesungen (2014) und Nachkommen (2014). Siehe auch www.marlenestreeruwitz.at



15 Uhr 
Politisch publizieren / künstlerisch publizieren: Einige Modelle
Fehras Publishing Practices (Berlin), HATE Magazine (Berlin), Phase 2 (Berlin/Leipzig) und Starship (Berlin) im Gespräch (DE)

Auf diesem Panel werden Publikationsformate diskutiert, die in der regelmäßigen, fortgesetzten und auch veränderlichen Form des Magazins ihren Ausgangspunkt nehmen, aber nicht notwendigerweise noch in dieser produzieren. HATE MAGAZINE wurde 2008 in Berlin als unregelmäßig erscheinendes Printmagazin gegründet und existiert heute in erster Linie als Online-Format. Die Phase2 entstand 2001 als theoretische Diskussionsplattform der antifaschistischen und linksradikalen Bewegung, als Printform ihrer Debatten. Wie Fehras Publishing Practices, die erst seit 2015 in Berlin existieren, geht es ihr um den veränderlichen Niederschlag politischer Form in Printform. Fehras Publishing Practices existiert in Berlin erst seit 2015 und verändert seine Form basierend auf den jeweiligen Formaten, die ihr Gegenstand – die Präsenz von nordafrikanischen und nahöstlichen Publikationen in der englischsprachigen Kunstwelt – annimmt. In dieser Kunstwelt besteht Starship bereits seit 1998 und hat als Künstler*innen- und Kunstmagazin seinen Auftritt seither grundlegend verändert und diesen, wie Fehras, mit ihrem Gegenstand immer wieder neu als künstlerische Form justiert. Am Beispiel dieser unterschiedlichen Publikationspraktiken verhandelt das Panel die Frage künstlerischer und politischer Formen von Radikalität in Printform heute.

18 Uhr Writing Towards an Aesthetic Practice? Writing Towards Art?
Justin Lieberman (München), Rachel O’Reilly (Berlin) und Josef Strau im Gespräch (EN)

Die drei Künstler*innen und Schriftsteller*innen, die dieses Panel zusammenbringt, operieren mit unterschiedlichsten Schreibformen als Teil einer Praxis, die nicht versucht, Kunst als Hort ästhetischer Form zu definieren. Vielmehr geht es darum, künstlerische Produktion hin zu einem erweiterten Verständnis ästhetischer Autor*innenschaft zu öffnen – zu einem gewissen Risikobewusstsein. Die Frage danach, wie die institutionalisierten Formen der Kunst als im Übergang in eine allgemeinere ästhetische Praxis aufs Spiel zu setzen seien, ist hier auf die spezifischen Rollen gerichtet, die Sprache darin spielen kann – und in den Arbeiten von Lieberman, O’Reilly und Strau gespielt hat. 

Justin Lieberman (*Gainesville, FL) ist ein in München arbeitender Künstler. Seine aktuellen Ausstellungen umfassen Installation View, Galerie Christine Mayer, München (2016), Je t’Empire, Le Confort Moderne, Poitiers (2015) und Squeezed Relief, Martos Gallery, New York (2014). Zu seinen jüngsten Publikationen zählen unter anderem The Corrector’s Custom Pre-Fab House (2015), Address to the Student Art Collective (Adjunct Commuter Weekly, 2017), Michel Auder’s Machinic Bohemia (2010/14) und Hopi Basket Weaving (2006). Siehe auch www.justin-lieberman.com

Rachel O’Reilly (*Gladstone, AU) lebt und arbeitet als Lyrikerin, Kritikerin, Künstlerin und researcher in Berlin. Sie lehrt am Dutch Art Institute und hat kürzlich zusammen mit Natasha Ginwala u.a. das öffentliche Programm der Contour Biennale (2017) kuratiert. O’Reilly ist mit Jelena Vesić und Vladimir Jeric Autorin des Buches On Neutrality: The Letter from Melos (2017) und präsentierte ihre künstlerische Arbeit The Gas Imaginary (2016-) an wechselnden Orten, darunter Gladstone Regional Art Gallery and Museum (2016) und The Jerusalem Show (2017).

Josef Strau (*Wien) lebt und arbeitet als Künstler in Frankfurt und New York. Aktuelle Einzelausstellungen fanden unter anderem im Künstlerhaus Bremen (2017), House of Gaga, Mexico City (2016) und Secession, Wien (2015) statt. Strau hat umfassend publiziert, sowohl im Rahmen seiner eigenen künstlerischen Praxis als auch für Kataloge und Magazine. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen zählen der Essay „The Non-productive Attitude“ (2006) und jüngst die Künstlerbücher Dreaming Turtle (2015), The New World 2, Travels in Turtle Island (2015) und The Atlantis Search Engine (2013). 1990 gründete er mit Stephan Dillemuth den von Künstler*innen betriebenen Raum Friesenwall 120 (Köln), zwischen 2002 und 2006 war er Kurator der Galerie Meerrettich an der Volksbühne (Berlin).

 

20 Uhr After the Ice, the Deluge
Performance Linda Stupart (London) (EN) 

In ihrer* Performance, die Teil ihres* Ausstellungsbeitrags ist, widmen sich Linda Stupart dem Queering von Wissenschaftssprache, der Beweislast von Objekten/Bildern sowie dem Verhältnis zwischen Körpern und Horror/dem Abjekten durch die Verknüpfung zweier divergenter Themen: dem Morgellons-Syndrom und dem Schmelzen der Polarkappen. 

Linda Stupart (*Kapstadt) leben und arbeiten als Künstlerinnen* und Autorinnen* in London, wo sie auch lehren. Zu ihren aktuellen Einzelausstellungen zählen A Dead Writer Exists in Words and Language is a Type of Virus in der Galerie Arcadia Missa, London (2016), bei der sie* auch ihre Debutnovelle Virus (2016) veröffentlichten. Stupart zeigten/performten ihre* Arbeiten außerdem in Matt’s Gallery, The Showroom, a.m. gallery, the ICA und Guest Projects in London u.a. Siehe auch www.lindastupart.net/

 

WORKSHOP
MC BAUSTELLE: KLASSEN SPRECHEN

Zu Klasse, Identifikation und Produktionsverhältnissen im Kunstbetrieb

14. September 2017
17 bis 20.30 Uhr (inklusive Essenspause)

Workshop und Radiosendung
mit Shanti Suki Osman und Anna-Lena Wenzel

Während der Aufbauphase zu Klassensprachen haben die District-Arbeiter*innen der Infrastruktur unter dem Namen MC Baustelle acht Audiotracks produziert, die in der Ausstellung zu hören sind. Darin werden Sounds und Gespräche von der Baustelle, ebenso wie autobiografische Bezugnahmen auf Klassen- und Arbeitsverhältnisse miteinander verwoben. In einem öffentlichen Workshop wird MC Baustelle um neue Stimmen erweitert und in eine Radiosendung überführt, die auf Missy Radio präsentiert wird. 

Die Teilnehmer*innen des Workshops sind eingeladen, ihre eigenen Ausstellungseindrücke und Klassenerfahrungen einzubringen.

Die Tracks von MC Baustelle können hier angehört werden.
Die Tracks von MC Baustelle II können hier angehört werden.

Weitere Informationen zum Workshop hier.

 

DISKUSSION, PERFORMANCE, MAGAZIN-RELEASE UND CLOSING PARTY
Samstag, 16. September 2017

Am vorletzten Tag, an dem KLASSENSPRACHEN bei District Berlin als Ausstellung zu Gast ist, feiern wir gemeinsam den Release der Ausgabe Null unseres gleichnamigen Magazins (mit Beiträgen von u.a. Cultural Capital Cooperative Object, Hans-Christian Dany, Övül Durmuşoğlu, Sarah M. Harrison, Christiane KettelerRachel O'Reilly, Susanne M. Winterling sowie Künstler*innen der Ausstellung). Ein Tag mit Vorträgen, Diskussionen, einer Performance und Party beschließt KLASSENSPRACHEN in Berlin, bevor das Projekt im November mit einer weiteren Station im Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen in Düsseldorf weitergeht.

 

16 Uhr Frank B. Wilderson III (University of California, Irvine)
moderiert von Kathy-Ann Tan (John-F.-Kennedy-Institut, FU Berlin)

In seinem Vortrag wird Frank B. Wilderson III den in KLASSENSPRACHEN immer wieder negativ bestimmten Begriff der Klasse – der bereits für Ausstellung und Vortragsprogramm zentral war – ganz grundsätzlich in Frage stellen. Einer seiner Ausgangspunkte ist hierfür die Geschichte der Black Liberation Army als einer anti-systemischen Bewegung, deren Militanz die Grenzen moderner politischer Subjektivität überschritt (anders es als z.B. die RAF tat). Wilderson wird diskutieren, inwiefern die historische Entstehung und Konsolidierung der Klasse als Träger der Kommunistischen Revolution auf einem Verständnis von politischer Freiheit fußt, das den Schwarzen als Sklaven immer schon voraussetzt und ausnimmt. Das moderne Verständnis der Freiheit, das dem Arbeitersubjekt zu Grunde liegt, hat ihr Gegenüber in der Sklaverei und liegt nicht jenseits von ihr. Moderiert von Kathy-Ann Tan wird Wilderson im Gespräch seine Thesen im Bezug auf dasjenige Medium schärfen, das in seiner Arbeit immer wieder einen eigenen Platz einnimmt und das bereits am Eröffnungswochenende von KLASSENSPRACHEN von Juliana Spahr und Monika Rinck als Ort grundlegender Rekonstruktion des individuierenden Denkens ausgelegt wurde: das Poetische.

Frank B. Wilderson III ist Autor, Dichter, Wissenschaftler, Aktivist und Filmemacher. Er unterrichtet Drama und African American Studies an der University of California, Irvine. Seine literarische wie auch kritische und wissenschaftliche Arbeit ist international publiziert und umfasst u.a. Incognegro: a Memoir of Exile and Apartheid (2008), Red, White, & Black: Cinema and the Structure of U.S. Antagonisms (2010) sowie „The Black Liberation Army and the Paradox of Political Engagement“ (2014).

Kathy-Ann Tan arbeitet als Literaturwissenschaftlerin am John F Kennedy Institut der Freien Universität Berlin. Zu ihren jüngsten Veröffentlichungen gehört Reconfiguring Citizenship and National Identity in North American Literary Imagination (2015) und davor The Nonconformist's Poem: Radical "Poetics of Autobiography” in the Works of Lyn Hejinian, Susan Howe and Leslie Scalapino (2008). Aktuell arbeitet Tan an einem Projekt zur Ästhetik der Dekolonisation.

 

18 – 18.30 Uhr Pause

 

18.30 Uhr Beschreiben in Auswegen
Johannes Paul Raether und Tanja Widmann im Dialog über zwei Werke  

Die Werkbeschreibung, eine vermeintlich neutrale, standardisierte Textform, begegnet uns regelmäßig in Zusammenhang mit künstlerischen Arbeiten: in Wandtexten und auf Labels, in Kritiken und Essays und nicht zuletzt im Rahmen von Kunstvermittlungsaktivitäten. Zumeist wird sie als notwendiges Übel betrachtet, als Mittel zum Zweck (von Kritik oder Lob), als tumbe Reflexion des eigentlichen Werks oder lästige Vorarbeit für die „Kür“ der Meinungsbildung. Ins Positive gekehrt lässt sich allerdings auch behaupten, dass die Werkbeschreibung die Grundlage für jede Verständigung über Kunst schafft: Was sie „sieht“ oder ausblendet, wie sie gewichtet und ordnet, welche (Sprach-)Barrieren sie auftürmt oder aus dem Weg räumt, lenkt den Zugriff auf das Werk. Johannes Paul Raether und Tanja Widmann beschreiben einander ein „Werk“ ihrer Wahl und reagieren auf die Beschreibungen des Gegenübers. Aus dem Textneutrum wird ein konfrontativer Dialog.

 

20:00 – 20:30 Uhr Pause

 

20:30 Uhr its not a thing
Performance von keyon gaskin, ca. 50 Min.

keyon gaskin prefers not to contextualize their performances with their credentials.

„its not a thing ist ein anti-theatrales Solo, das Trends in der zeitgenössischen Performancekunst problematisiert. Mit der Arbeit stellt gaskin Fragen zu den ‚vielfältigen Formen von Fürsorge und Undurchschaubarkeit [...]‘, unterläuft die Rollen von Darsteller und Zuschauer*innen und fordert unsere Regeln für Mitwirkung heraus. Die Arbeit ist eine Punk-Geste. Es handelt sich nicht um eine typische Theatererfahrung – und genau darum geht es.“

Ben Pryor, Kurator American Realness, New York

 

21:30 Uhr Magazin-Release Cocktail   

 

22:00 Uhr Party
mit Musik von Jane D and Skrait

 

 

KLASSENSPRACHEN wurde von Manuela Ammer, Eva Birkenstock, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier und Stephanie Weber als langfristige Kollaboration initiiert. Am 20.10.2017 eröffnet die nächste Station des Projekts mit einer Ausstellung im Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf.

Ausstellungsdesign: Fotini Lazaridou-Hatzigoga. Grafik: Offshore Studio

Künstlerisches Leitungsteam District: Suza Husse mit Janine Halka und Andrea Caroline Keppler. Geschäftsführer: Frank Sippel. Produktionsleitung: Naomi Hennig. Kommunikation: Johanna Ekenhorst. Aufbau: MC Baustelle (Francy Fabritz, Josephine Freiberg, Anka Mirkin, Winnie Olbrich und Hassan Suleiman). Assistenz: Eva Storms und Yoonhee Kim. Finanzen: Annett Hoffmann.

Ein Projekt von District Berlin gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin. Unterstützt von Cine Plus und Jungle World. 

Weitere Informationen auf: http://klassensprachen.org/